abundant blessings :: happy father’s day

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

   // as a father has compassion on his children, so the lord has compasison on those who fear him || [ psalm 103:13 ]

For this Father’s Day, my sisters and I put together letters for my dad to read throughout the next few months. Each letter expressed various things we love about him as our father. The themes of the letters came from a little book called, “Letters to My Dad” from the series “A Paper Time Capsule.”

In this post, I want to share just a few of the blessings our dad has given us:

from you I learned the importance of: service before self and giving wholeheartedly without reserve

one thing i’m glad we share is: our love for baking delicious chocolate treats

i always think of you when: i hear johnny cash

the best adventure we’ve had together was: travelling with you on your business trips

thank you for: choosing to adopt my sisters & i—we truly wouldn’t be where we are without you, literally

in the future i hope you: walk us each down the aisle; hold your grandbabies; and watch your family continue to grow & serve the lord wherever he calls

I recognize not everyone has a father figure or a dad still on this earth to celebrate with. It breaks my heart that so many have missed the opportunity to learn from and experience what a kind, caring, and hardworking dad is like. At the same time, it makes me all the more thankful for my family. We struggle with a lot, we don’t always find enough time for each other, we don’t always understand each other, but we are a family who has chosen each other in the most unique way and has chosen to love each other despite our weaknesses. And that is all I can ask for.

[ au revoir, hannah ]

[ share your thoughts please ]

